My hair journey & tips I learnt (Part 2) (3 min read)

Hi everyone. Today I am going to talk about the various products I used on my hair for hair growth. I had covered most of the tips in my previous post My hair journey & tips I learnt.

Here I am specifically targeting the products I used on my hair.

OILS

Oils are of 2 types natural oil and mineral oil.

Natural Oil

Natural oils are oils which are absorbed by our scalp and hair. They nourish our hair. Various natural oils that I have used are as follows:

  • Castor Oil

In addition to helping in hair growth, castor oil also helps in preventing split ends and dandruff. It also thickens hair.

Tip: As castor oil is a thick oil, mix 1 tablespoon of castor oil with 2 tablespoons of coconut/olive oil and then apply. Wash thoroughly as castor oil may be difficult to remove.  I did  find castor oil effective but one has to be patient. I applied castor oil-coconut oil mixture twice a week for a month or two and I did see results. I used to keep the oil overnight and then wash it off in the morning.

  • Coconut Oil

My second favorite oil on the list is Coconut oil. It can be used alone or mixed with castor oil. Coconut oil easily penetrates into the hair shaft and nourishes the hair. Coconut oil promotes hair growth and makes the hair soft and shiny. (Coconut oil: Benefits for skin & hair)

Tip: For those suffering from dandruff. Mix 2-3 tablespoons of coconut oil with 1 tablespoon of lemon juice. Apply the mixture and massage your scalp for at least 5 minutes. Massaging the scalp increases blood circulation which in turn promotes hair growth.

You can also apply coconut oil on the ends of your hair to protect the ends from splitting and drying.

  • Olive Oil

It is said that olive oil is similar to the oil produced by our scalp. But honestly I didn’t see much benefits after using this oil.Sometimes I mix equal quantities of coconut oil and olive oil and apply it for extra conditioning  or use it with castor oil.

  • Bhringraj Oil

Purchased it on a friend’s advice but didn’t see any visible results. It may be good but didn’t suit me I guess.

Mineral Oil

Please check the hair oils you purchase for the mineral oil content. I had been applying this particular oil for years assuming it to be almond oil but one fine day when I chanced upon the ingredient list, it contained only 16% of almond oil rest was mineral oil, vitamin E oil and perfume (that’s why my hair weren’t growing as shown in the advertisement).

Mineral oil is not absorbed by our scalp or hair, it just sits on top forming a layer. If you want to apply mineral oil, apply it to the ends of your hair as it will protect the ends from splitting. But I will still recommend coconut oil for this purpose.

I have personally stopped using mineral oils.

SHAMPOO & CONDITIONER

Use sulfate-free and silicone-free shampoos and conditioners. Sulfates and silicones are harmful for hair. They cause hair fall and can lead to drying of hair. Now comes the most important question,

How to check products for sulfates?   

Watch out for these common sulfates:

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate
Sodium Laureth Sulfate
Sodium Coco Sulfate
Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate
Ammonium Laureth Sulfate

 

How to check products for silicones?

See for these suffixes:
-cone
-cane
-col
-conol
-xane

For example: Amodimethicone, Dimethicone, Cyclomethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane.

Shampoos usually contain sulfates but can contain silicones in some cases. Similarly conditioners usually contain silicones but can contain sulfates also, so check accordingly.

I personally don’t use a conditioner. There are a lot of natural hair mask recipes (for conditioning purposes) available on the internet. But if you want to use a conditioner make sure it doesn’t contain silicones and sulfates.

USING A WOODEN COMB

It is said that wooden comb distributes the oil produced by the scalp throughout the hair evenly. It’s been a couple of months that I have started using a wooden comb and I have seen a difference, my ends are a lot better and I can go longer without trimming my hair.

I hope the tips mentioned here as well as in my previous post might help you.

Last but not the least stay happy, be positive and live life to the fullest. Thanks for reading.

-Priyanka Lamba

 

Leave a Reply

