Why I chose the tattoos I sport (2 min read)

Hello everyone. Today I am going to talk about my tattoos and why I chose them. Here is a link to one of my previous posts where I have discussed about the various things to keep in mind before, while and after getting inked.

Now talking about my tattoos, I have 2 tattoos one on my wrist and the other on my ankle.

I wanted to get inked since a very long time but I was never very serious about it. But one fine day I just decided to get inked no matter what. After a lot of research about the whole process and the various tattoos I can get, it took me 7 days to decide what I wanted to get done. I was having my exams at that time and yes I am one of those to engage in random activities when I know I should be spending some “quality time” with my books. After a lot of pondering I decided to get a snowflake done.

SIGNIFICANCE:

  • The main reason why I got a snowflake done is that snowflake symbolizes uniqueness. When we look at snow from a distance, it looks like a massive blanket. But it consists of entirely unique flakes. These flakes in turn have different patterns and measurements. No two snowflakes are the same. Thus, according to me my snowflake tattoo is a symbol of my individuality.
  • Snowflakes are delicate and short-lived, and can therefore represent fragility and the fleeting nature of life.
  • There is something special about the way a snowflake descends from the sky which makes it a symbol of grace.
  • Snowflake is a symbol of rebirth. Snow makes the earth look fresh and clean, so snowflakes can also be a symbol of purity. When it melts it is transformed into water, making it a symbol for transformation and new beginnings.
  • Snowflake is also a symbol of divine beauty.

I also wanted to get an ankle tattoo done, so a couple of months after I got my first tattoo done I got a lotus vine inked on my ankle.

SIGNIFICANCE:

  • Honestly I loved the simple yet elegant design. Lotus is not only revered for it’s beauty, but also reflects a deeper spiritual meaning. The flower grows in muddy water, yet symbolizes purity and harmony.
  • The lotus grows in muddy water, rising high above the water’s surface and opening in the sunlight as a beautiful pristine flower. This growth symbolizes new beginnings and the path of one’s soul in the sunshine of enlightenment.

I hope you enjoyed this post, stay tuned for more.

-Priyanka Lamba

Leave a Reply

